Veggie Veggie Chili Recipe

It is not secret that I love a good crock pot recipe, so this past weekend I decide do experiment with a veggie chili. I am a big meat fan — my go-to chili normally includes ground beef AND Italian sausage, but my boyfriend tends to stray away from red meat whenever possible. I am not opposed to a meatless meal, so I went ahead with making a meatless chili, and it ended up working out.

The biggest change I made compared to other veggie chilis I have seen was using sweet mini peppers instead of bell peppers. I’m not a huge bell pepper fan, but for some reason I can’t get enough of the sweet mini peppers. They definitely added a new dimension of sweetness and flavor to the chili.

Keep reading to find my first recipe of 2016!

File_000

Veggie Veggie Chili

  • Servings: 6 to 8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 28 oz. cans of crushed tomato
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 2 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. butter
  • 1 jalapeño, chopped
  • 1 lb. sweet mini peppers (red, yellow, orange), chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen corn
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 Tbsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 Tbsp. red pepper flakes
  • 2 Tbsp. + chili powder
  • Salt and pepper

Extras: Serve with sour cream and shredded cheese

Directions: 

  1. Chop all the veggies. Be careful when chopping the jalapeño! Don’t touch your eyes or nose and keeps any cuts on your hands covered up.
  2. Soften the chopped onion, celery and butter in a small pan for 5 to 10 minutes. This step isn’t completely necessary, however I am not a fan of celery. I do know it adds a lot of flavor so to make sure it is super soft, and I can’t really taste it, I cook it down before throwing it in the crockpot.
  3. Combine all of the ingredients in the crockpot. For the seasonings I gave a rough estimate of what I used. Depending on your tastes you may want more or less of the chili powder and red pepper flakes. I generally add more of everything as a sample the chili during the cooking process.
  4. Cook on high for three hours, turn down to low for the remaining three. Six hours is the minimum I would cook this for, a little bit longer will only make it taste better!
  5. Serve in big bowls with a handful of shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream. (Optional)


 Let me know what you think and what veggies your incorporate into your veggie chilis!

Leave a Reply

