Week 13: Days 1, 3

So I may have disappeared again, and for that I apologize. However, that has not swayed me from my healthy eating habits. I have even been pushed toward even more veggies because my boyfriend is sort of trying to be a vegetarian. He isn’t completely there, but we have both been eating significantly less meat. Therefore, I have two meatless meals to share. Despite the lack of meat, neither meal was lacking in flavor or satisfaction.

Day 1

IMG_2046

I am a sucker for a good chili or soup, so I was completely willing to give a vegetarian chili I try. I feel like this is a good starter food of eliminating meat because there are so many different flavors going on. I mostly followed this recipe, but did not follow the cooking directions. One of the best things about the chili is not actually having to do any cooking. Hence, I just threw all of the ingredients in the crock pot and let it go all day. I also didn’t include the asafetida (I don’t even know what that is) and probably tripled the recommended amount of chili powder. It had the perfect amount of spice.

Day 3

IMG_2048

Big surprise, buffalo sauce makes another appearance.  These were our vegetarian alternative to boneless wings. Instead of chicken it was cauliflower, and they were fantastic. Definitely on the spicy side, but bearable. Even my boyfriend, who I can rarely get to eat cauliflower, loved them. I was so excited about eating them, I neglected the 15 minute cool time. I only burned by tongue once, so it was definitely worth it. Only alteration to this recipe I made was using regular flour instead of garbanzo bean flower. The batter also didn’t cover my entire head of cauliflower, but we still had plenty to serve two people as the main dish.

Leave a Reply

