Week 12: Days 1-2

April 5-6, 2015

Week 12 is off to a solid start, and I am proud of the decisions I have made. Granted this is coming post-East brunch, but holidays only come around once a year. And I totally could have eaten more, but I restrained myself. I also just can’t eat as much as I used to which is a plus. I am extremely lacking on groceries, so we will see how well I continue this week. Hopefully I don’t go to off track.

Dinner 1

IMG_2036

If someone could show me how to take a good picture of a quesadilla I would be forever grateful. Mine aren’t too aesthetically pleasing. The taste of this, however, was very pleasing. I went all veggie on this one with cheddar cheese, spinach, black beans and roasted red peppers. I went sparingly with everything and nothing was too overpowering. I complimented it with some ranch dressing, because what is a meal if it doesn’t include ranch?

Dinner 2

IMG_2037

So I had taken a hiatus from tilapia because I just couldn’t get it too have enough flavor. Well, I found one of my new favorite dinners. I took inspiration from this recipe, but then completely changed up the spices. Instead of parsley I used italian seasoning and instead of paprika I used crushed red pepper. I also added in some garlic powder. I used about a 1/2 tsp of the crushed red pepper flakes and it gave the fish quite the kick. I also broiled my fish for a couple minutes to get it golden (I have a bad oven though). This will definitely will be making a regular appearance in the recipe rounds. I also made lemon-mayo-garlic sauce to go with the fish. Excellent choice on my part; especially because it helped tone down the spiciness.

Leave a Reply

