My Go-To Smoothie Recipe

Smoothies are the bomb. If I had the money to buy the ingredients, I would probably have a different one each day. However, as a college student I have to make do with what I have, which is one pretty damn good smoothie, which I started my morning with today.

The best part of this smoothie is in never tastes the same way each time I make it. Depending on the fruit or the yogurt there is always a slightly different taste. I also normally estimate on the measurements for each ingredient, which contributes to the flavor.

Ingredient List

Serves 1
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup frozen fruit
  • 3 tbsp low-fat yogurt
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • handful of spinach
  • desired amount of orange juice depending on how drinkable you want it

smoothie before

One of the best parts of smoothies is there is no specific way to make them. I just plop everything in my little Bella sport blender and let it go to work. Once I put all my ingredients in, I give it a good shake to make sure the orange juice is well distributed because it isn’t the strongest blender on the market.

As far as my ingredients, I go for fresh bananas because I like the smooth consistency it gives the smoothie. I bought a family size bag of a tropical mix of frozen fruit, so for a long time my smoothies will be a strawberry, mango, peach, pineapple blend. None of these flavors is too  over powering, which gives the flavor a nice balance. I also always use vanilla yogurt to keep the flavor consistent. But any combination of frozen fruit and yogurt can be used to create a more distinct flavor. As scary as spinach may seem in a fruit smoothie, I can’t taste the spinach at all, which makes it a great way to slide some veggies into your diet.

Of all the ingredients to include, the chia seeds are a must. They absorb some of the liquid in the smoothie and give it a think texture. They are also super healthy, so there is no reason to include them. Chia seeds are a healthy whole grain and contain healthy fatty acids, protein, fiber, antioxidants and calcium.

smoothie after

This recipe is a great starting point for any smoothie newb because it can be altered to fit your tastes and what you have in your refrigerator.

2 thoughts on “My Go-To Smoothie Recipe

Leave a Reply

